Home Page


Welcome to the Governors' section. Governors are a vital part of our school. If you are interested in joining the governing body or would like to find out more information, please do not hesitate to come and talk to us.

Brookland Schools' Governing Body

At Brookland there is one combined (federated) governing body for both the Infant and Junior schools. It is made up of the two head teachers, four staff governors (three of whom are co-opted), six parent governors (four of whom are co-opted),one local authority governor and five further co-opted governors.  From time to time we also appoint associate members where appropriate.


A photograph sheet of our current governors can be found in each of the playground noticeboards. 


Should you wish to contact any of them, please do so via the school office or, in the case of parent governors, feel free to approach them in the playground.

Role of the Governing Body

The role of the governing body is to support and challenge the head teachers and staff to ensure that the children receive a high standard of education in a supportive and inclusive environment. In practical terms this means making decisions with regard to a wide range of policies and tracking the progress and direction taken by the schools. The responsibility for the day to day running of the school is delegated to the head teacher. The full governing body meets twice a term in addition to which all governors are attached to a number of subcommittees which meet one to three times a year.

The main committees are:
  • Communication and Community Engagement
  • Curriculum
  • Finance
  • Personnel
  • Premises, Health and Safety
  • Safeguarding and Personal Development
  • Strategy
  • Head Teachers' Performance

List of Current Governors

Name Category of Governor Appointed By Term of Office Ends Committees
Mark Leibling Co-opted Governing Body 18/03/2019 Curriculum, Strategy (Chair)
Head Teacher Performance

Laura Pincus


Parent Infant Parents 20/04/2020 Curriculum (Chair), Finance, Communication and Community, Head Teacher Performance (Chair), Safeguarding, Strategy, Educational Visits Governor

Sapna Shah

(Vice Chair)

Local Authority London Borough of Barnet 15/03/2020 Finance (Chair), Curriculum, Head Teacher Performance, Personnel, Gifted & Talented Governor
Harriet Bloom Associate Governor Governing Body 05/10/2022

Communication & Community Engagement

Tim Jackson Co-opted Governing Body 05/07/2020 Premises(Chair), Personnel, Strategy, Head Teacher Performance
James Clare Parent Governing Body 27/09/2022 Communication and Community Engagement, Finance, Personnel
Michael Farhi Parent Governing Body 27/09/2022 Finance, Premises, Safeguarding & Personnel
Claire Rosen Parent Junior Parents 9/11/2021 Personnel, Premises, Curriculum
Brenda McCafferty
N/A Ongoing Finance, Premises, Communication and Community Engagement, Curriculum, Personnel, Safeguarding
Jenny Aylen Headteacher N/A Ongoing Finance, Premises, Communication and Community Engagement, Curriculum, Personnel, Safeguarding
Jenny Catley Staff Infant Staff 15/03/2021 Safeguarding
Simon Greenhouse Co-opted Staff Governing Body 27/09/2022 Premises, Curriculum
Farnoush Bikdeli Co-opted Staff Governing Body 28/09/2020 Communication and Community, Safeguarding, Training & Development Link Governor
Emma McCabe Co-opted Staff Governing Body 27/09/2022 Communication and Community Engagement, Curriculum
Shiv Haria-Shah Co-opted Governing Body 27/09/2022 Personnel, Safeguarding
Chris Rafferty Co-opted Governing Body 27/09/2022 Curriculum, Personnel
Katie Attwood Associate Member Governing Body 05/07/2020 Finance
Claire Mackenzie



Governing Body 19/10/2018 Special Education Need



List of Governors who were members of the Governing Body during the last 12 months but have now left:


Name Category of Governors Appointed By and Date of Appointment Term of Office End Committees
Phil Mulvihill Staff

Infant Staff



(Left: 06/01/2017)

Karen Tickner Parent

Governing Body


31/03/2016 Personnel (Chair), Safeguarding
Alexandra Taylor-Yeates Parent

Governing Body


31/03/2016 Finance, Curriculum
Sheryl Bekhor Co-opted

Governing Body



(Left: 05/07/2016)

Denis Lam


Governing Body



(Left: 06/09/2016)

Sara Wolfin Parent Junior Parent Governor (Left:29/10/17) Personnel, safeguarding, premises
Harriet Bloom Parent

Governing Body



(Left: 03/03/2018)

Communication, Curriculum

Russell Caller Associate Governor Governing Body Left:27/09/2018  Personnel
Rachel Beard Co-opted Governing Body Left: 27/09/2018 Communication, Curriculum
Katie Fearn Co-opted Governing Body Left: 21/07/2018 Communications, Safeguarding
Anna Black Co-opted Governing Body Left: 01/11/2018 Safeguarding & Personnel (Chair),
Communication and Community Engagement, Strategy, Personnel Safeguarding Governor



Information on Current Governors:



Name Relevant Business and Pecuniary Interests

Meetings Attended


Laura Pincus Nothing to declare 1 of 1
Sapna Shah Nothing to declare 1 of 1

Brenda McCafferty

Trustee at “De Nederlandse Regenboog School”.

1 of 1
Jenny Aylen Governor at Christ's College Finchley 1 of 1
Anna Black Nothing to declare 1 of 1
Tim Jackson Nothing to declare 0 of 1
Claire Rosen Nothing to declare 1 of 1
James Clare Nothing to declare 1 of 1
Michael Farhi Nothing to declare 1 of 1
Simon Greenhouse Nothing to declare 1 of 1
Farnoush Bikdeli Governor at Christ College 1 of 1
Emma McCabe Nothing to declare 1 of 1

Mark Leibling

Nothing to declare

1 of 1
Katie Attwood

Forest Environmental LTD

Environmental services Asbestos removal

Director since 2008

Finance committee member only

Jenny Catley Nothing to declare 1 of 1
Shiv Haria-Shah

Nothing to declare

1 of 1
Chris Rafferty Nothing to declare 1 of 1
Governor Attendance

Governor Code of Conduct


See document at the foot of this page outlining the Brookland Schools' Governors code of conduct

Becoming a Brookland Governor

If you are interested in becoming a governor, please click below for more information.